Women and the equestrian world

Questionable references

In an inter-species relationship as in an intra-species relationship, it would be illusory to imagine that it could flourish if one of the two individuals is not benefiting from respect within that relationship. However, female riders in the traditional equestrian world are faced with questionable ideals. Domination, infibulation, forced mating of mares are all convincing examples of abuses that lead to some inadmissible behaviour. Mirroring this, child sexual abuse is sadly very common in the sporting world of equitation. Riders who are faced with this are daring to break their silence by denouncing those coaches who abuse them. Their testimonies are shocking and concern us. “If you don’t have sex with me, you won’t be given a good horse for the next competition.” To destroy a life in this way to satisfy one’s impulses is no better than the coupling of a mare by force, a practice all too banal in the equestrian world. The presidency of the French Equestrian Federation (FFE), covers up by its silence acts of child rape – cf. the Médiapart survey by Quentin Müller and Margaux Solinas, published on May 23 and June 11, 2020. Raping a young teenager in a stable or in the coach-competitor common room would not be deemed denounceable. To be shocked or offended by this practice would mean exclusion from the traditional equestrian circle and being labelled as a killjoy. Yet, we must all agree that this lack of respect for others must not be considered as normal behavior. The well known toast, “to our women, our horses and those who ride them” not only lacks elegance, but above all, it lays the ground where contempt for others becomes an established value.

Astride !

The denigration of women in the equestrian world is not new. Before the beginning of the 20th century, women who mounted astride were considered immoral or tomboys. One can never tell, a woman might take pleasure in rubbing herself against the back of her mount, whereas men in the same position, on the contrary must be careful not to jeopardise his genitals, that would be unacceptable. Unacceptable in a society driven by the exclusive pleasure of men. This idea did not fail to generate fantasies in order to justify that a woman should not ride horses. The most persistent fantasy remains the one which claims that women can lose their virginity. When receiving young female riders at our centre coming from families of Muslim faith, it was often difficult to reassure them as they were often terrorised by their fathers.

The alterity

Horseback riding is a fun activity, learning about social life that can demonstrate to machos that otherness, partnerships and the search for mutual well-being makes for stronger and more intense relationships than does domination. The culture of fulfillment predominates over that of confrontation. It would be dangerously limiting to believe that women will compare the attention and respect she shows to a horse, with the attitude they may have towards a human who is insensitive to otherness. A young woman attentive to her horse companion will not become servile, on the contrary she will learn that respectful exchange is rewarding and in turn she will offer it to her human partner.

The traditional equestrian world as it stands today effectively hinders emancipation. The reason for this archaism lies in the permanence of an education that ignores otherness . Teaching nuns have received divine instruction carefully controlled by the national technical director, called “God”. Leaving the nunnery by any door is the only solution for female riders to emancipate themselves. The one and only antidote to this “eternal” submission is to offer an alternative equestrian education that integrates diversity, respect and the enjoyment of a moment shared with a conciliatory partner, the horse, when he too is not subject to disrespectful practices.

Pierre ENOFF

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

19 − 9 =

Scroll to Top

des références contestables

Dans une relation inter-espèces comme dans une relation intra-espèce, il serait illusoire d’assurer qu’elle est épanouie si l’un des deux individus n’est pas installé dans des conditions de vie un minimum acceptables. Or le monde équestre traditionnel présente aux cavalières des références contestables. La domination, l’infibulation, l’accouplement forcé des juments sont autant d’exemples probants de dérives qui conduisent à quelques comportements inadmissibles. Comme un miroir, la pédocriminalité est malheureusement très présente dans le monde sportif de l’équitation. Les cavalières concernées osent sortir du silence en dénonçant ces entraîneurs qui abusent d’elles. Leurs témoignages nous interpellent. Ils sont sidérants : « Si tu ne couches pas, tu n’auras pas le bon cheval pour la prochaine compétition. » Détruire une vie pour assouvir ses pulsions, c’est l’ infernale équation de l’accouplement forcé banalisé dans le monde équestre. La  présidence de la Fédération française d’équitation (FFE) couvre par son silence les faits de viol sur mineures – cf. l’enquête Médiapart signée Quentin Müller et Margaux Solinas, publiée les 23 mai et 11 juin 2020. Violer une jeune adolescente dans un box ou dans la chambre commune entraîneur-compétitrice, ne serait donc pas dénonçable. S’en offusquer nous classe hors du champ du monde équestre traditionnel, nous étiquette comme rabat-joie. Pourtant nous le confirmons, le manque de respect de l’autre ne saurait être considéré comme une marque de joie. La célèbre formule « à nos femmes, à nos chevaux et à ceux qui les montent » ne manque pas seulement d’élégance, elle marque surtout un territoire où le mépris de l’autre est une valeur installée.

A califourchon !

La déconsidération de la femme dans le monde équestre n’est pas nouvelle. Avant le début du xxe siècle, les femmes qui montent à califourchon sont considérées comme des dépravées, des garçons manqués. On ne sait jamais, si la femme prenait du plaisir en se frottant au dos de sa monture alors que l’homme dans la même position doit au contraire être attentif à ne pas mettre en péril ses organes génitaux, ce serait inacceptable. Inacceptable dans une société conduite par le plaisir exclusif de l’homme. Cette position ne manque pas de générer des fantasmes pour justifier qu’une femme ne doive surtout pas enfourcher un cheval. Le plus persistant reste celui qui prétend que la femme peut y perdre sa virginité. Recevant dans notre centre de randonnées de jeunes cavalières issues de familles de croyance musulmane, il était souvent difficile de rassurer les jeunes, terrorisées par leur père.

L’alterité

L’équitation, activité ludique, apprentissage de la vie sociale, peut démontrer aux machistes que l’altérité, le partenariat, la recherche d’un mieux-être mutuel portent des fruits relationnels plus denses, plus forts et plus performants que la domination. La culture de l’épanouissement prévaut sur celle de l’affrontement. Il serait dangereusement réducteur de croire que les femmes vont assimiler l’attention et le respect portés au cheval à l’attitude qu’elles pourraient avoir face à un humain qui n’a cure de l’altérité. Une jeune femme attentive à son compagnon cheval ne deviendra pas une femme servile, au contraire elle apprendra que l’échange dans le respect est gratifiant et elle le proposera à son partenaire humain.

Le monde équestre traditionnel tel qu’il est actuellement freine l’émancipation. La raison de cet archaïsme réside dans la permanence d’une éducation faisant fi de l’altérité. Les nonnes monitrices ont reçu un enseignement divin contrôlé avec soin par le directeur technique national, appelé « Grand Dieu ». Sortir du monastère par n’importe quelle porte est la seule solution pour que les cavalières s’émancipent. La seule et unique antidote à « l’éternelle » soumission, c’est de proposer un enseignement équestre nouveau qui intègre la diversité, le respect et le plaisir d’un moment partagé avec un partenaire conciliant, le cheval, dès lors que lui aussi n’est pas soumis à des pratiques irrespectueuses.

Pierre ENOFF

Laisser un commentaire

Votre adresse e-mail ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *

19 + 7 =

logo-horizon-noir-blanc

NOUS JOINDRE

+33 4 68 04 59 42
Gîte "La Pastorale"

Place Florian ENOFF
66760 Porta - France

MÉTÉO PORTA
-
  -2.4 °C  18 km/h  151 °  1016

Retour haut de page